Theft laws in the state of Kentucky can be incredibly complex and difficult to understand.Charged with a crime in Kentucky? Please call (888) 632-5650.
There are many different laws and penalties that are under the category of theft, which is why this particular section of the legal code can be so confusing.
If you are facing any type of theft charge, you should examine the laws and penalties carefully so you understand the full gravity of the consequences you face for your actions.
Theft is a serious crime, and if you are convicted you may find yourself locked up behind bars.
One of the first types of theft laws in Kentucky is called theft by deception. Theft by deception occurs when someone obtains some property or a service from another person through deception with the intent to deprive that person of their service or property. The guilty individual purposefully deceives the other individuals as a means to try and get the property or service they are after without permission.
A person might also be charged with theft by deception if they hold back information that could affect the judgment of a transaction or when someone creates a false impression about the value of an object or piece of property.
This type of theft crime is considered to be a Class A misdemeanor as long as the value of the property or the check issued is $500 or more but is still less than $10,000. If the value of the property or check is greater than $10,000, it is considered a Class C felony.
Another important law regarding theft in the state of Kentucky is known as theft of services. This occurs when a person intentionally seeks to try and get a service through deception or by threatening or any other means that avoid the due payment for that particular service which the individual knows they can only get by compensation. A couple of good examples of this would be stealing cable television or the unauthorized use of someone else’s wireless communication services.
This is also considered to be a Class A misdemeanor unless the amount of the service stolen is over $10,000, in which it becomes a Class D felony.
If you are being charged with either of these theft crimes, you could be looking at some serious jail time depending on the value and amount of property stolen.
Theft by deception carries either a Class A misdemeanor charge or a Class C felony charge. A Class A misdemeanor can be a maximum of a year in jail, typically served out in in a county jail.
A Class C felony on the other hand is much more severe. A Class C felony will get you five years in a state prison with a possible maximum of up to 10 years depending on the circumstances surrounding the theft incident. This is very serious prison time.
Theft of services can also get you a Class D felony conviction. Class D felonies can range from one year in prison to up to five years in prison.
It is critical that if you are looking at facing theft charges you get an attorney.
A defense attorney can help develop a strategy that may end up getting you acquitted of all charges and enable you to avoid having your life ruined by a felony conviction.
The attorney will make sure that you receive a fair trial and that none of your rights were violated during the gathering of evidence against you. Your attorney will ask tough questions that could lead jurors to believe there is not sufficient evidence to convict you.