My Kentucky Defense Attorney Kentucky Driving Laws - KY Driving Suspended License Charge Penalties

Kentucky Criminal Defense Attorney

Driving with a Suspended License


There are a number of reasons why an individual might have their license suspended. One of the most common reasons is for a DUI charge for which the individual was found to be guilty. Repeated DUI charges can lead to losing your license for an extended period of time without any special privileges of driving to and from work. Losing your license is a pretty big deal, but if you attempt to drive yourself around while your license is suspended, your penalties will be pretty harsh, and you could end up taking a taxi everywhere for a long time.

Charged with a crime in Kentucky? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

The law in Kentucky states that no person is allowed to operate or to be in physical control of a motor vehicle while their license is suspended or revoked. If your license has been suspended due to a DUI and the court has ordered you to install a functioning ignition interlock device, then you cannot operate your vehicle without the device or it is considered to be operating a vehicle with a suspended driver’s license.

There are several penalties outlined for this type of offense. The severity of the penalty is based on how many offenses you have obtained in a five year period. For a first offense you will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and your driver’s license will be revoked for a period of six months. If you get a second driving a vehicle with a suspended license charge within a five year period, it is a Class A misdemeanor charge and your license is suspended for 12 months. A third offense in five years is considered to be a Class D felony, and your license will be taken away for an extended period of up to 2 years.

Along with the penalty of losing your driver’s license, some of these charges come with additional penalties in the form of possible prison time and fines. For a Class B misdemeanor, you are looking at a prison sentence of up to 3 months in jail. Most prison sentences for misdemeanor crimes are served in the county jail. Class A misdemeanors are the highest misdemeanor you can be charged with before being charged with a felony. Class A misdemeanors can end up being a full year in jail. A Class D felony is the lowest felony charge you can be convicted of. Being convicted of this charge could mean spending anywhere from one year in prison to a maximum of five years in prison.

It is important that if you are facing a criminal charge for operating a motor vehicle while having your driver’s license suspended that you immediately seek the counsel of a local defense attorney who works with this particular type of case.

There are many benefits to hiring a legal professional to represent your case in a court of law. One of the biggest benefits is that your attorney will be well versed in traffic laws. Your attorney can help educate you and explain the laws to you so that you become familiar with what they mean and what you can expect at your trial or hearing.

A good defense attorney will also be able to help you put together a defense strategy that might end up helping you get a lesser charge or even getting the charges dropped or the case dismissed.

It is your attorney’s job to make sure that you are treated fairly during your trial. A defense attorney will investigate every level of the proceedings to make sure your Constitutional rights are being protected and are not being violated.