My Kentucky Defense Attorney Kentucky Bad Check Charge Penalties - KY Fraud Criminal Offense Arrest

Kentucky Criminal Defense Attorney

Bad Checks and Credit Card Fraud


Writing a bad check may not seem like a big deal, but in the state of Kentucky it is considered to be a form of theft. This means that this type of crime could hold a very serious penalty for those who have committed it. The state of Kentucky has strict laws like this in place to protect businesses from being hurt financially by individuals attempting to use bad checks. If you are concerned about a bad check you have written, the following information can help you understand the legal ramifications you might face in your situation. If you have committed credit card fraud, you also face extremely serious allegations that could ruin your future career options as well as any opportunities to rent a nice home or apartment.

Charged with a crime in Kentucky? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

If you attempt to write a check from a bank where you do not have any type of savings, checking, or credit union account, the check will not be honored and it will be evident that the check was fake and thus you have committed theft by deception. If you have written a check but the bank will not cash it in 30 days because of a lack of funds, you will have 10 days to deposit the money into your account or you could be charged with writing bad checks. If the amount of the check you wrote was for an amount that was under $300, the theft of deception charge will be a Class A misdemeanor. If the amount of the check was more than $300, it will be considered a Class D felony.

Fraudulent use of credit or debit card after reporting it as lost, stolen, or not received is also a serious crime in Kentucky. If someone purchases goods or services with a card after having reported to the company that the card was stolen as a means to deceive the card issuer is guilty of this crime and charged with a Class A misdemeanor so long as the total amount of goods does not total over $500 in a six month period. If the amount of goods and services is $500 or more, it is a Class D felony, and if it is more than $10,000 it is a Class C felony.

The penalty for writing a bad check that is under $300 is a maximum of one year in jail due it being a Class A misdemeanor charge. A Class D felony, if the amount of the check is over $300, can result in you possibly facing a sentence of about a year to five years in prison. Fraudulent use of a credit card that has been reported lost with a total of $500 or more, but less than $10,000 could also get you one to five years in jail. A Class C felony for credit card fraud over $10,000 carries a sentence of around five to ten years depending on your situation. If you have been convicted of a felony, you may also have to pay a steep fine that ranges from $1,000 to $10,000 depending on the Judge and the circumstances of your case.

If you are facing either of these charges, you need legal representation to help you create a defense for your case. A skilled attorney will be able to create a defense that will cast reasonable doubt on your guilt for these charges and can help you either get a reduced sentence or an acquittal. An attorney will not only defend your case but will also provide you with an education that can help you to understand these laws and to help you avoid making the same mistakes in the future.