Assault is a crime that is taken very seriously in the state of Kentucky.Charged with a crime in Kentucky? Please call (888) 632-5650.
Assault can be classified as either a Class A misdemeanor or a felony depending on the severity of the crime that has been committed.
Felony charges have steep penalties and can result in you spending up to 20 years or more in prison in addition to expensive fines, fees, and court costs. Felony convictions also go on your permanent record and can prevent you from obtaining certain types of employment, or being eligible for renting or owning a home.
Kentucky Assault Laws
Assault laws are broken down into four categories known as degrees.
Assault in the fourth degree is defined by Kentucky law as when a person intentionally or wantonly causes physical injury to another person, or with recklessness causes physical injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon or a dangerous instrument.
This is considered to be a Class A misdemeanor, which does not carry as stiff a punishment as assault charges deemed to be felonies. For a Class A misdemeanor, you are looking at a possible sentence of up to 12 months in prison and a possible fine.
Assault in the third degree is defined as someone who causes physical injury to another person with a deadly weapon due to recklessness. Assaulting a police officer at the state, local, or county level also counts as third degree assault.
Someone can also be charged with assault if they cause physical harm to an employee of a school or school bus driver. This assault charge is a Class D felony if you are convicted. A Class D felony in the state of Kentucky can have a sentence ranging from one year in prison to a maximum of five years in prison.
Assault in the second degree is defined as occurring when a person intentionally causes serious physical injury to another person or injures a person with a deadly weapon or a dangerous instrument or without any type of provocation. This type of crime is a Class C felony that can have a sentence ranging from 5 to 10 years in prison.
The worst type of assault is assault in the first degree. This type of crime carries the stiffest available penalty for the crime of assault. In order to be charged with assault in the first degree, a person must cause serious physical injury to another human being with a deadly weapon or some type of dangerous instrument.
A person might also be charged with assault in the first degree if they engage in some type of behavior or activity that creates a risk of death to another person and injures that person. Assault in the first degree is a Class B felony. According to Kentucky law, a Class B felony offense has a minimum penalty of 20 years in prison with a maximum of 50 years or life in prison. This is an incredibly serious offense that can result in the individual spending the rest of their natural life behind bars.
If you are being charged with assault, you need to locate a lawyer for legal representation immediately. A lawyer in Kentucky will be familiar with the law and will help you to build a solid defense that may help you avoid spending the rest of your life in prison.
One of the most common defense strategies used by attorneys is the self defense strategy. If the assault is the result of a fight, your attorney will attempt to prove that you were attacked in the altercation first and were merely attempting to defend yourself from serious personal injury or other threats to your well-being.