Understanding the legal code of the state of Kentucky can be difficult and a bit confusing for those who have no previous experience with the law. If you are facing a criminal charge in Kentucky, it can benefit you greatly to know what the difference is between a felony crime and a misdemeanor.Charged with a crime in Kentucky? Please call (888) 632-5650.
This helps you to get an understanding of the type of possible punishment you might face and the effect that conviction might have on your permanent record. Once you have a good grasp of the difference between the two it can help you to prepare for your upcoming case.
Kentucky Misdemeanor Charges
A misdemeanor is a crime that is of a less severe nature than felony crimes. Misdemeanors often carry a small prison sentence and a fine depending on the crime you are charged with. Misdemeanors are usually broken down into two separate categories, Class A offenses and Class B offenses.
A Class A misdemeanor offense is the most severe of the two and usually comes with a year in prison at the maximum.
The Class B misdemeanor usually carries at the max a 3 month prison sentence. The judge will also take into consideration whether or not the individual is a repeat offender. Someone who has never faced criminal charges before is likely to only get put on probation.
Kentucky Felony Charges
Felonies are a lot more severe, and in light of being more severe than misdemeanors, they also come with heavier penalties. Felony offenses are similar to misdemeanors in that they are broken down into several different classes, and each class comes with a different sentence due to each class being based on the severity of a crime.
The first class of felony is the Class D felony. This class comes with the lightest sentence which is somewhere between 1 to 5 years in prison.
Class C felonies are slightly more severe carrying a minimum sentence of 5 years with a maximum sentence of 10 years in prison.
A Class B felony carries a minimum 10 year sentence with a maximum sentence of 20 years. The worst class is the Class A felony offense. These offenses can have a minimum sentence of 20 years with a maximum of 50 years to life in imprisonment.
As stated above, some individuals end up avoiding prison and get placed on probation. In order to be eligible for probation in the state of Kentucky, you cannot be convicted of what is considered by Kentucky law to be a capital offense or be designated a violent offender. When a person is placed on probation, they are required to check in with a probation period on a regular basis.
The Judge may also develop a list of other conditions that the individual must meet in order to stay on probation and avoid jail time. One of these conditions might be to stop all associations with known felons and to get and keep full time employment.
The individual may also be required to submit to drug testing by their probation officer as well. If the individual fails to meet these conditions, the court can revoke the probation or can alter the conditions of the probation. Many individuals who are put on probation are still required in some cases to pay as a punishment.
Get Help With A Kentucky Criminal Charge
It is important to know this information when you are facing charges so that you can prepare better for your situation. If you are not aware of the criminal courts process in the state of Kentucky, it is a good idea to have your attorney provide for you educational materials that can inform you about the process.